Skip to content
Answering Your Questions About Reactor: Right here.
Sign up for our weekly newsletter. Everything in one handy email.

2011 Nebula Award Finalists (and others) Announced


2011 Nebula Award Finalists (and others) Announced

Home / 2011 Nebula Award Finalists (and others) Announced
Books awards

2011 Nebula Award Finalists (and others) Announced


Published on February 20, 2012


The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced the finalists for this year’s Nebula Awards, the Ray Bradbury Award, and the Andre Norton Award. Needless to say, is jazzed to see Charlie Jane Anders’s outstanding story “Six Months, Three Days” nominated in the Novelette category, and our own Jo Walton’s remarkable Among Others among the finalists for Best Novel. Congratulations to all the honorees!



  • Kiss Me Twice,” Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2011)
  • Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WFSA Press; Clarkesworld Magazine, October 2011)
  • “The Ice Owl,” Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, November/December 2011)
  • The Man Who Bridged the Mist,” Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011)
  • The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary,” Ken Liu (Panverse Three, Panverse Publishing)
  • “With Unclean Hands,” Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, November 2011)


  • “Fields of Gold,” Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse 4, Night Shade Books)
  • “Ray of Light,” Brad R. Torgersen (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, December 2011)
  • Sauerkraut Station,” Ferrett Steinmetz (Giganotosaurus, November 2011)
  • Six Months, Three Days,” Charlie Jane Anders (, June 2011)
  • The Migratory Pattern of Dancers,” Katherine Sparrow (Giganotosaurus, July 2011)
  • The Old Equations,” Jake Kerr (Lightspeed Magazine, July 2011)
  • “What We Found,” Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011)

Short Story

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

The winners will be announced at SFWA’s 47th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend, to be held Thursday through Sunday, May 17 to May 20, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City in Arlington, Virginia. As announced earlier this year, Connie Willis will be the recipient of the 2011 Damon Knight Grand Master Award for her lifetime contributions to, and achievements in, the field. Walter Jon Williams will preside as toastmaster, with astronaut Michael Fincke as keynote speaker. More information can be found in SFWA’s own press release.

About the Author


Learn More About
Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments