Skip to content
Answering Your Questions About Reactor: Right here.
Sign up for our weekly newsletter. Everything in one handy email.

A Devouring Fascination: Announcing Nghi Vo’s The City in Glass

0
Share

A Devouring Fascination: Announcing Nghi Vo’s The City in Glass

Home / A Devouring Fascination: Announcing Nghi Vo’s The City in Glass
Book Recommendations book announcement

A Devouring Fascination: Announcing Nghi Vo’s The City in Glass

A demon. An angel. A city that burns at the heart of the world.

By

Published on March 6, 2024

0
Share
Photograph of author Nghi Vo beside text that reads: Nghi Vo's The City in Glass, A New Novella, Fall 2024

Tor Publishing Group is thrilled to announce that editor Ruoxi Chen has acquired World English rights to Hugo Award-winning author Nghi Vo’s next novella, The City in Glass, pitched as This Is How You Lose the Time War meets Good Omens. The deal, for World English rights, was brokered by Diana Fox at Fox Literary. 

In this new standalone, Hugo Award-winning author Nghi Vo introduces a beguiling fantasy city in the tradition of Calvino, Mieville, and Le Guin.

A demon. An angel. A city that beats like the heart of the world.

The demon Vitrine—immortal, powerful, and capricious—loves the dazzling city of Azril. She has mothered, married, and maddened the city and its people for generations, and built it into a place of joy and desire, revelry and riot.
And then the angels come, and the city falls.

Vitrine is left with nothing but memories and a book containing the names of those she has lost—and an angel, now bound by her mad, grief-stricken curse to haunt the city he burned.

She mourns her dead and rages against the angel she longs to destroy. Made to be each other’s devastation, angel and demon are destined for eternal battle. Instead, they find themselves locked in a devouring fascination that will change them both forever. 

Together, they unearth the past of the lost city and begin to shape its future. But when war threatens Azril and everything they have built, Vitrine and her angel must decide whether they will let the city fall again.

The City in Glass is both a brilliantly constructed history and an epic love story of death and resurrection, memory and transformation, redemption and desire strong enough to burn a world to ashes and make it anew.

Buy the Book

The City in Glass

Nghi Vo

Nghi Vo is the author of the novels Siren Queen and The Chosen and the Beautiful, as well as the acclaimed novellas of the Singing Hills Cycle, which began with The Empress of Salt and Fortune. The series entries have been finalists for the Locus Award and the Lambda Literary Award, and have won the Crawford Award, the Ignyte Award, and the Hugo Award. Born in Illinois, she now lives on the shores of Lake Michigan. She believes in the ritual of lipstick, the power of stories, and the right to change your mind.

Buy the Book

The Brides of High Hill
The Brides of High Hill

The Brides of High Hill

Nghi Vo

A Book of The Singing Hills Cycle

About the Author

Reactor

Author

Reactor (formerly Tor.com) is a magazine that publishes original short speculative fiction along with daily essays, book reviews, media news, and more.
Learn More About Reactor
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments