Skip to content
Answering Your Questions About Reactor: Right here.
Sign up for our weekly newsletter. Everything in one handy email.

Re-reading Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series


Re-reading Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series

Home / Re-reading Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series
Blog written word

Re-reading Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series


Published on October 4, 2010


Join Jo Walton as she begins a weekly read-along of the Aubrey-Maturin series by Patrick O’Brian.

Although set in the seafaring Napoleonic era and featuring no supernatural elements, Jo Walton ascribes the same attraction to Pat O’Brian’s Aubrey-Marutin series that she receives from science fiction. “The truly great thing about these books is that they suck you into their world and while you are reading you are entirely caught up within it, and it is as alien and fascinating a world as anything you might find around another star.”


10/04/10 – “Not a moment to be lost”: Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin Series

Master and Commander (1969)

10/04/10 – “It could not have fallen more happily”: Patrick O’Brian’s Master and Commander

Post Captain (1972)

10/11/10 – Out of his element: Patrick O’Brian’s Post Captain

H.M.S. Surprise (1973)

10/18/10 – Jack, you have debauched my sloth! Patrick O’Brian’s H.M.S. Surprise

The Mauritius Command (1977)

10/25/10 – Showing away: Patrick O’Brian’s The Mauritius Command

Desolation Island (1978)

11/1/10 – The voyage of the world: Patrick O’Brian’s Desolation Island

The Fortune of War (1979)

11/8/10The American navy was the staple diet of conversation: Patrick O’Brian’s The Fortune of War

The Surgeon’s Mate (1980)

11/15/10 – I know you mean it kindly, Stephen: Patrick O’Brian’s The Surgeon’s Mate

The Ionian Mission (1981)

11/22/10 – Parenthesis: Patrick O’Brian’s The Ionian Mission

Treason’s Harbour (1983)

11/29/10 – Ain’t I elegant? Patrick O’Brian’s Treason’s Harbour

The Far Side of the World (1984)

12/06/10 – Around the Horn: Patrick O’Brian’s The Far Side of the World

The Reverse of the Medal (1986)

12/13/10 – Rode his luck to death: Patrick O’Brian’s The Reverse of the Medal


The Letter of Marque (1988)

12/20/10 – He was a stranger: Patrick O’Brian’s The Letter of Marque

The Thirteen Gun Salute (1989)

01/03/11 – Shaken down so well: Patrick O’Brian’s The Thirteen Gun Salute

The Nutmeg of Consolation (1991)

01/10/11 – From the mizentop: Patrick O’Brian’s The Nutmeg of Consolation

Clarissa Oakes (aka The Truelove) – (1992)

01/17/11 – She is under your protection: Patrick O’Brian’s Clarissa Oakes (AKA: The Truelove)

The Wine Dark Sea – (1993)

01/24/11 – I still have hopes: Patrick O’Brian’s The Wine Dark Sea

The Commodore – (1995)

01/31/11 – The chief argosy of your command: Patrick O’Brian’s The Commodore

The Yellow Admiral – (1996)

02/07/11 – How happy I am to see you: Patrick O’Brian’s The Yellow Admiral

The Hundred Days – (1998)

02/14/11 – A chill fell upon Stephen’s heart: Patrick O’Brian’s The Hundred Days

Blue at the Mizzen – (1999)

02/21/11 – A fine clear deck: Patrick O’Brian’s Blue at the Mizzen

The final Unfinished Voyage of Jack Aubrey – 2004

02/28/11 – Forever Bailing: Patrick O’Brian’s last unfinished novel and the end of the Aubrey-Matrurin series

About the Author


Learn More About
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments