Skip to content
Answering Your Questions About Reactor: Right here.
Sign up for our weekly newsletter. Everything in one handy email.

SFWA Announces the 2021 Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award Recipients


SFWA Announces the 2021 Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award Recipients

Home / SFWA Announces the 2021 Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award Recipients
Blog Nebula Awards

SFWA Announces the 2021 Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award Recipients


Published on January 26, 2021

Nebula Awards logo

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America is closing the first month of 2021 by announcing the recipients of the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award. This honor is given out to those who have made “distinguished contributions to the science fiction and fantasy community.”

There are three recipients this year:

  • Ben Bova
  • Rachel Caine
  • Jarvis Sheffield

Before he passed away in 2020, Ben Bova had a long history working as a writer, journalist, and editor. A few of Bova’s most notable achievements include serving as editor for both Analog Science Fiction/Science Fact and Omni Magazine, as well as becoming President Emeritus of the National Space Society. Along the way, he wrote over one hundred books and received a number of Hugo Awards. Bova’s posthumous Kate Wilhlem Solstice Award will honor his many editorial contributions and constant work to improve the science fiction genre.

Rachel Caine will also be receiving the award posthumously this year. She was a New York Times bestselling author known for her work on such notable series such as the Weather Warden series, the Morganville Vampire series, the Outcast Season books and more. While crafting brilliant worlds, she also helped support and mentor upcoming authors. Caine was also a known advocate for independent bookstores and educators. The award will honor her legendary career and charitable spirit.

Jarvis Sheffield is the third person who will receive the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award this year. He has experience with multimedia design, editing, writing, and much more. Throughout his career, he has worked continuously to bring more diversity to the sci-fi genre. In addition to taking charge of the Diversity Track at DragonCon, he served as the editor for Genesis Science Fiction Magazine and founded the Black Science Fiction Society. Sheffield’s award will honor his career achievements and commitment to diversity.

All three awards will be formally bestowed at the 56th Nebula Awards. This year’s ceremony will take place during the 2021 Nebula Conference Online over the weekend of June 4-6, 2021.

About the Author

Andrew Tejada


Learn More About Andrew
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments