Skip to content
Answering Your Questions About Reactor: Right here.
Sign up for our weekly newsletter. Everything in one handy email.
When one looks in the box, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the cat.

What’s Next for the Nebula Award Winners?


Home / What’s Next for the Nebula Award Winners?
Books new releases

What’s Next for the Nebula Award Winners?


Published on May 16, 2016

Art by Tommy Arnold
Cloudbound Fran Wilde Tommy Arnold
Art by Tommy Arnold

What can readers expect next from this year’s Nebula Award winners?

Every year the members of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) honor notable authors and their works through the Nebula Awards, highlighting promising new voices and commemorating authors whose legacies have defined the entire field of speculative fiction. The list of Nebula nominees and winners also communicates the stories that we as readers were excited about in the previous year, and it looks like there’s a lot yet to come from this year’s roster of Nebula winners!



League of Dragons Naomi NovikNaomi Novik — Best Novel winner for Uprooted

Although Naomi Novik’s Nebula Award win is for an original (and currently standalone) novel, the author will be celebrating the conclusion of her long-running Temeraire series this June 14th with the publication of League of Dragons, the ninth and final book of her epic saga chronicling an alternate(ish) history where the struggles of the Napoleonic Wars intertwine with the fate of dragons on Earth.

After that? Hard to say, but it seems likely that we’ll hear some news on the movie development of Uprooted.


Binti Nnedi OkoraforNnedi Okorafor — Best Novella winner for Binti

Fans of Nnedi Okorafor can look forward to Breaking Kola, a follow-up novel to Akata Witch, currently aimed for release from Penguin Group For Young Readers in fall of 2016. Akata followed the 12 year-old Sunny, an albino soccer player living in Nigeria who, with her friends, finds herself drawn into a fairy tale world that requires her innate skills.

Shortly after, readers who enjoyed Binti will want to keep an eye out for its sequel, currently titled Binti: Home and scheduled for release in January 2017!


Sarah PinskerSarah Pinsker — Best Novelette winner for “Our Lady of the Open Road

Sarah Pinsker has good news for readers (after some rest, naturally):

What’s next other than sleeping for a week or so? I’m on the second draft of  a novel based on “Our Lady of the Open Road.” It’s slowly coming together. And I’m always working on more short fiction, because that’s where my heart lives.


Uncanny Magazine June 2016Alyssa Wong — Best Short Story winner for “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers

Readers can actually read Alyssa Wong’s next work, a novelette titled “You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay,” right now! The story is published in Uncanny Magazine issue #10 (May/June 2016), available through Weightless Books. (Online readers will have to wait until late June, when the next issue of Uncanny hits shelves.)


Furiosa Mad Max: Fury RoadGeorge Miller, Brendan McCarthy, Nick Lathouris — Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation winner for Mad Max: Fury Road

Charlize Theron stated in April of 2016 that she’s ready to jump back in the driver’s seat for a Mad Max: Furiosa film, and there’s apparently another sequel written that centers on Max’s next journey, but according to Collider director George Miller needs to recharge his batteries with a non-carnage-based film before jumping back into the world of Max and Furiosa. So who knows when we’ll see a follow-up.


Cloudbound Fran WildeFran Wilde — Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy winner for Updraft

Fran Wilde is the proud author of a brand new novella, The Jewel and Her Lapidary, as of just last week! (You can read an excerpt here.) Jewel is a new standalone story. For those who are awaiting the next installment in Wilde’s Bone Universe series, Tor Books plans on releasing Cloudbound, the sequel to Updraft, in September of this year!




C.J. Cherryh VisitorC. J. Cherryh — 32nd Damon Knight Grand Master

Visitor, the 17th book in Cherryh’s science fiction Foreigner series, is still fresh on the shelves, and the Grand Master has been reliably publishing a novel every April since 2009. According to her publisher DAW Books, fans should expect Book 18, titled Convergence, in spring of 2017.

About the Author

About Author Mobile

Chris Lough


An amalgamation of errant code, Doctor Who deleted scenes, and black tea.
Learn More About Chris
Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments